This week has been nothing short of an epic fail as far as my training plan is concerned. Despite being fully aware of the pitfalls that come after enjoying a recovery week, including the effect it can have on your motivation and how hard it makes it to simply get going again, I have done nothing to combat any of those things and subsequently done next to no training. I have a list of reasons that have undoubtedly contributed to this, which I will go through just now, but I know I my heart of hearts that these are all excuses and that the only real thing stopping me was me.

IMG_6273.JPG

That said, aside from my own poor attitude I have found the clocks going back an hour a huge mental barrier to executing my training plan. It is now completely dark when I leave work at around 6pm which makes road running a different game. Additionally the temperature has taken a real dip this week and it is now very, VERY cold when I leave work. This combo, coupled the fact it has been spitting or raining most nights, has chipped away at my motivation and eroded it almost completely this week.

IMG_6274.JPG

Add to this the fact that I’ve had an eye infection which has meant that I can’t run in my contact lenses and that after Mondays run (the only one I’ve done all week) I felt on the edge of ‘man-flu’ after breathing in all that cold air, and I think that’s enough reasons/excuses not to beat myself up – but you’ll probably be the judge of that.

Here are the splits from Mondays 4 mile run:

IMG_6272.PNG

I’m writing this blog on Friday night though and I’ve made a promise to myself to get right back on the horse tomorrow morning with 10k session of Kenyan Hills prior to heading off to watch West Ham v Aston Villa in the afternoon. That’s one of the things I like from running, despite having a piss poor attitude all week and achieving nothing I can wipe all this from memory tomorrow simply by setting myself a challenge tonight and going out and hitting it tomorrow. When I complete my 10k of Kenyan Hills tomorrow I will feel great again and be right back on it mentally.

IMG_6241.PNG

It’s been interesting as well to find myself gaining motivation from others that I have perhaps motivated in the first place, as my own motivation has wavered. Through my running and this blog I have had a number of friends, colleagues and acquaintances explicitly tell me they have started running because of it, indicate that it’s played some part in them starting or just tell me that it’s motivated them to do more, run races, enter triathlons, etc.

IMG_6278.JPG

Every single person that has told me something along those lines has been a massive motivation for me, and for that I am grateful to each and every one of you. Especially now. You all know who you are, and I won’t name you, with the exception of my girlfriend Kristy. I know 100% that Kristy despises running and yet not only has she started, but she’s also done two 5k races already. For someone who hates running with a passion as she does that’s amazing! Knowing she went out and ran today, when she’s been on nights, is a massive motivator to making me pull my finger out tomorrow. As are all the Facebook status updates, Tweets and Instagram pictures from all my friends! I’ll let you know how the Kenyan Hills go.

IMG_6283.PNG

IMG_6282.PNG

The Charity Bit
There are 2 people I regularly see around Richmond who both have Guide Dogs, one is a chap in his mid 30’s and the second a slightly older lady. Every time I see them I literally stand and stare in awe of them, and their dogs, as between them they negotiate uneven streets, selfish pedestrians, reckless drivers, unpredictable children and everything else involved in the modern day commute as they head to Richmond train station (and presumably to work).

The communication, understanding, teamwork, consideration and respect shown between Guide Dog and owner is frankly breath-taking. I know that it might sound like an am being overly dramatic here, but next time you see a Guide Dog and it’s owner just watch and appreciate how amazing they are together, and what they give to each other.

IMG_6276.JPG

Guide Dogs for the Blind receives absolutely NO Government funding and depends entirely on public support. There are currently 4,800 Guide Dog owners in the UK and Guide Dogs created more than 820 new Guide Dog partnerships in 2013 alone.

Please make a donations HERE!

The Race Schedule
Here is the plan, such as it is, for the remainder of the #12in12months #ManProject challenge. Only November and December have been booked this far:

Saturday 15th November 2014
Dirt Run Half Marathon

Wednesday 31st December 2014
Dangee Point Half Marathon, South Africa

Sunday 19th January 2015
Helsby Four Villages Half Marathon, Cheshire

Sunday 15th February 2015
Barcelona Half Marathon, Spain

Sunday 22nd March 2015
Fleet Half Marathon

April – TBC
Plymouth Half Marathon TBC

Sunday 3rd rMay 2015
Richmond Half Marathon – TBC

June – Full Marathon TBC

If you fancy joining me for one, or know of any better ones then please get in touch @12in12months

PS: It’s Sunday morning now and I can confirm that the Kenyan Hills went well!

IMG_6313.PNG

One thought on “Week 21 – Epic fail week!

Leave a comment